Teaser Tuesday-All France All Day

I have to say I love foreign films. I saw my first one in college. My husband and I went to go see Ran (a Japanese retelling of King Lear). We bought chopsticks to eat the popcorn with and mortified his friend Bob, who thought we were too weird. The next one we saw was City of the Lost Children and I became an instant and forever Jean-Pierre Jeunet fan. He is best known for the film Amelie, but everyone should see them all.

So what you ask does this have to do with Teaser Tuesday? I just finished a beautiful, sad, wonderful novel by Muriel Barbery, The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

“Madame Michel has the elegance of the hedgehog. On the outside, she’s covered in quills, a real fortress, but my gut feeling is that on the inside she has the same simple refinement as the hedgehog: a deceptively indolent little creature, fiercely solitary-and terribly elegant.”-p. 143.

Meet Madame Michel, Paloma and Mr. Ozu. You will never forget them.

Please go to your bookstore and pick up The Elegance of the Hedgehog and order Amelie from Netflix. Spend the day in France. You won’t regret it.

Happy Birthday Hayao Miyazaki. He gets his own post tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

