Teaser Tuesday-Her Fearful Symmetry Again, plus Arabian Nights

I can’t believe it’s been five days since I posted last, but many good things have been going on and haven’t spent a lot of time in front of the computer. What’s been going on?
Birthdays and another on Thursday. Fringe twice in one week. The Saints won. And I wrote seven, yes seven pages on a story that was stalled and left for dead in a journal many months ago. Oh and everyone had Monday off and the kids are still home today. Anyhow, those are my excuses and they are pretty poor ones.

Now onto Teaser Tuesday. I am back to reading, Her Fearful Symmetry. Yes, it is good enough to read twice, but that’s not why it is here. I read so much that we don’t have room in a two bedroom apartment with four people to hold them all so until I get an e-reader of some sort I get a lot of my reading material from the library. Her Fearful Symmetry is one of those books. I didn’t read The Time Traveler’s Wife, but wanted to give this one a try. Usually when I don’t know an author I pick them up from the library first.

I loved the book and I’m the first to admit that I am a sucker for ghost stories. However it was on the best seller shelf and I didn’t have time to finish it before it was due, so I’ve picked up where I left off.

I can say that Valentina is my favorite character and not just because she shares a part of my name. Also she writes the most truthful descriptions of cats that I have ever read. She wrote a short story that you can find at the following link, audrey niffengger.
The story is full of cats and ghosts.

So here is another teaser quote, if I didn’t convince you the last time.

Julia liked the idea of a ghost that made itself useful. “The ghost did it just the same way you did, only the kitten couldn’t see the ghost, so she just pounced right in the room and then the ghost shut the door.” -p. 155.

Also picked up a lovely copy of Arabian NightsThe Arabian Nights this past week, translated by Husain Haddawy. Much different than the translations that I have read before. It is based upon the oldest copy of the tales that can be found from the fourteenth century. Mr. Haddawy, who I believe is a professor has translated it from the original Arabic. Apparently the tales that we are most familiar with were badly translated from bad manuscripts by Englishmen, most notably Richard Burton.

Needless to say, it is like reading brand new stories for the first time. How much difference can a good translation make? Here is an example.

Burton’s translation: “After a while my mother also deceased, leaving me and my sisters-german three thousand dinars; so each daughter received her portion of a thousand dinars and I the same, albe’ the youngest. In due course of time, my sisters married with the usual festivities.”

Haddawy’s translation of the same passage: “After a while, our mother also died. leaving us three thousand dinars, which we divided equally among ourselves. Since I was the youngest of the three, my two sisters prepared their dowries and got married before me.”

Now back to my short story writing. I originally thought that it was going to be a short thing of maybe five pages about a witch from long ago who goes to see a Harry Potter movie and what she thinks of it. Well, it started out as planned and then a walk on character decided that he was the other part of the story and I’m at 15 pages and still going. Best laid plans I guess.

See you soon.

Leave a Reply

