Teaser Tuesdays- The Library and Alice

Yesterday I had to return a movie to the library and while I was there I picked up a few things, I just can’t help myself. I chose a book from the new releases. I think I will be the only person to read this book for pleasure and not some report they were forced into. What is it you wonder? The Library.

So here is the teaser. I found it quite interesting, but then again it’s probably just me.
“In New York, attendance for 2008 was up 13 percent over the previous year, with circulation reaching 21.1 million items, an increase of close to four million. Similar patterns were evident from coast to coast, with the American Library Association reporting more active borrowing cards in use nationally that at any other time in history. Americans visited their libraries some 1.3 billion times in 2008 and checked out more than 2 billion items-an increase in both figures of more than 10 percent.”-p. VIII-The Library: An Illustrated History by Stuart A.P. Murray. Introduction by Donald D. Davis, Jr. Forward by Nicholas A. Basbanes.

That is amazing in a country in which 1 in 3 people can’t read. It is also amazing that this is happening at the same time when library budgets, jobs and hours are being cut. It’s obvious from this quote that libraries mean something to us as a nation. We need to let our voices be heard.

Also it is the week that Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland comes to theatres. It is not a retelling of the classic Alice in Wonderland and Alice Through the Looking Glass, but rather a what happened next sort of tale. I can’t wait to see it. It is going to look amazing, I have no doubt. Needless to say, I dusted off my copy of Alice and found this quote:

“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
“Oh you can’t help that,” said the Cat, “we’re all mad here. I’m mad, you’re mad.”-p.81, Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

Leave a Reply

