Teaser Tuesday-The Dream of Perpetual Motion

Happy Tuesday to all. Spring Break has ended and hopefully so has the Curse, but more on that at another time.

Today I must tease a wonderful, wonderful book. First, I’ll tell you what other people are saying about it.

“…a steampunk The Tempest with the grim and rippling beauty of a fairy tale”.-Lauren Groff, The Monsters of Templeton.

“”…I have often fantasized about Jules Verne, Nathanael West, and Thomas Pynchon meeting up in some netherworld saloon and, upon discovering they have absolutely nothing in common save a mutual affection for The Tempest, agreeing to reify their enthusiasm via a three-way collaboration filled with Zeppelins, androids, monsters, virtual islands, linguistic felicity, and state-of-the-art weirdness. And now I must thank Dexter Palmer for making my dream come true.”-James Morrow, The Philosopher’s Apprentice.

Now that you’ve heard what others have said, check out the author’s web page to see what he has to say about creating this dream of a novel.

Finally we come to the teaser:
“She begs me to speak, but I won’t. We live in our own little universe, she and I, and she is mad, and I am sane. This is the one thing that I know for sure. Prospero Taligent drove her mad; thirty years of being his daughter broke her mind, but I won’t let the same thing happen to me. -p.3, The Dream of Perpetual Motion by Dexter Palmer.

I am sure this will be up for all kinds of awards next year. Don’t wait for that. Read it, Read it now.

Leave a Reply

