A Return and A Steampunk List

I don’t even want to think how long it has been since I’ve posted here. All I can say is that life got in my way. Car repairs, High School graduation, Money woes(see Car Repairs). But I’m back and for anyone that reads after all this time, I am grateful.

I was recently asked by several people what Steampunk I would recommend.

Here’s my list with links and comments.

The Affinity Bridge by George Mann
This book has everything a Steampunk fan is looking for: Zombies, Conspiracy, Victoriana, Two strong leads, Dirigibles, and a really twisty ending that promises so much more.

Soulless and Changless
These are the first two books in Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate Series. The third Blameless will be out in the Fall.
This series has redeemed Vampires and Werewolves from their new low in that series that shall not be mentioned. Add wit, charm and a dirigible or two and you have an Alexia Tarabotti novel. She is without a doubt the strongest, funniest heroine in this reborn genre.
As an Added bonus there is Gail’s website which is a delight in and of itself.

The book that many people believe started this genre way back in 1991, The Difference Engine

Cherie Priest just won the Locus for Boneshaker which transforms old Seattle into a steampunk nightmare. Zombies galore. And more to come. To get a better idea of Cherie’s plans for future steampunk novels check out The Clockwork Century where you can also read free chapters and find a lot of cool links. Also check out Cheri’s blog. It offers quite an insight on what being a working author is as well as being a lot of fun.

If you are looking for a creepy slice of the steampunk pie try The Somnambulistby Jonathan Barnes. Read the first chapter and tell me its not a great beginning for a Dr. Who episode.

I’ve just started reading one of the most talked about books of the year, The Windup Girl. I’m only a few pages in so I can’t say a lot, but the beginning reminds me very much of the tone of Blade Runner. If you want more of a taste of his fiction before you buy, check out his blog, Windup Stories or a free story up right now on Tor.

You can find my Teaser Tuesdays for Souless, Changeless, Boneshaker here in old entries.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

